USDA county ratesSource healthy

Tennessee Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$118/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $65
$20–$196County mean rangeScott County to Lake County
88Counties with a published rateof 95 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+0.9%Median county change vs 202581 counties published in both years

The median among 88 reporting counties was $65 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $118 per acre. Lake County had the highest reported county mean at $196. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +134.6% in Houston County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

1,380 published county-land-type records and 900 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$30020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $62Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $58Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $60Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $54Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $61Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $64Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $60Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $65Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $178Irrigated cropland, 2020: $163Irrigated cropland, 2021: $240Irrigated cropland, 2022: $187Irrigated cropland, 2023: $190Irrigated cropland, 2024: $205Irrigated cropland, 2025: $174Irrigated cropland, 2026: $189PasturePasture, 2019: $21Pasture, 2020: $22Pasture, 2021: $21Pasture, 2022: $22Pasture, 2023: $22Pasture, 2024: $24Pasture, 2025: $26Pasture, 2026: $28
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$6280
2020Not available$5882
2021Not available$6089
2022Not available$5491
2023Not available$6190
2024Not available$6487
2025$115$6086
2026$118$6588

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1786
2020Not available$1633
2021Not available$2402
2022Not available$1874
2023Not available$1906
2024Not available$2055
2025$189$1743
2026$182$1894

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2181
2020Not available$2284
2021Not available$2185
2022Not available$2282
2023Not available$2281
2024Not available$2476
2025$26$2681
2026$30$2884

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Lake County$196/acre+14.6%2026
Robertson County$187/acre-6.0%2026
Sumner County$180/acre+21.6%2026
Obion County$178/acre+7.2%2026
Franklin County$173/acre+44.2%2026
Dyer County$161/acre+14.2%2026
Tipton County$156/acre+1.3%2026
Lincoln County$155/acre+60.6%2026
Gibson County$153/acre0.0%2026
Haywood County$152/acre-0.7%2026
Weakley County$145/acre-6.5%2026
Crockett County$143/acre-8.3%2026
Madison County$142/acre+10.1%2026
Henry County$141/acre—2026
Lauderdale County$135/acre-2.2%2026
Macon County$135/acre-8.2%2026
Montgomery County$132/acre-15.4%2026
Coffee County$131/acre+15.9%2026
Lawrence County$131/acre+26.0%2026
Smith County$130/acre+9.2%2026
Carroll County$127/acre-5.9%2026
Warren County$115/acre+6.5%2026
Hardeman County$110/acre+15.8%2026
DeKalb County$106/acre+23.3%2026
Fayette County$105/acre-3.7%2026
Cumberland County$94/acre+45.7%2026
Perry County$94/acre+26.2%2026
Cannon County$94/acre-4.6%2026
Henderson County$93/acre—2026
Chester County$92/acre—2026
Hardin County$92/acre+47.6%2026
Maury County$87/acre-3.4%2026
Bedford County$82/acre-2.4%2026
Bledsoe County$80/acre+37.1%2026
Cocke County$75/acre+26.1%2026
Decatur County$75/acre-13.3%2026
Putnam County$75/acre+56.3%2026
Benton County$73/acre-21.9%2026
Wayne County$73/acre+24.8%2026
Loudon County$70/acre+28.4%2026
Marshall County$70/acre—2026
McMinn County$70/acre+7.7%2026
Overton County$69/acre+29.3%2026
McNairy County$65/acre-12.8%2026
Rutherford County$65/acre-15.0%2026
Giles County$65/acre-18.4%2026
Houston County$65/acre+134.6%2026
Stewart County$65/acre-25.0%2026
Washington County$64/acre0.0%2026
Humphreys County$62/acre-19.1%2026
Dickson County$61/acre+32.6%2026
Marion County$59/acre+1.7%2026
Unicoi County$59/acre—2026
Jefferson County$58/acre+26.4%2026
Greene County$57/acre+21.3%2026
White County$57/acre-8.1%2026
Blount County$56/acre+0.9%2026
Wilson County$56/acre+15.6%2026
Moore County$55/acre-15.4%2026
Grundy County$54/acre—2026
Williamson County$53/acre-3.6%2026
Monroe County$53/acre+11.7%2026
Morgan County$53/acre+5.0%2026
Hamblen County$49/acre-20.5%2026
Trousdale County$41/acre-2.4%2026
Clay County$40/acre-7.0%2026
Hickman County$40/acre-14.0%2026
Jackson County$40/acre-25.9%2026
Pickett County$40/acre-17.5%2026
Fentress County$40/acre-6.0%2026
Bradley County$38/acre+52.0%2026
Roane County$38/acre+31.0%2026
Knox County$36/acre+51.1%2026
Carter County$35/acre+1.4%2026
Sevier County$35/acre-13.6%2026
Sullivan County$35/acre-10.4%2026
Lewis County$31/acre+3.3%2026
Johnson County$30/acre-38.1%2026
Claiborne County$29/acre+38.1%2026
Hamilton County$29/acre-24.0%2026
Grainger County$27/acre-25.0%2026
Anderson County$27/acre-3.6%2026
Rhea County$26/acre-8.8%2026
Hawkins County$26/acre+2.0%2026
Meigs County$25/acre-58.0%2026
Union County$25/acre-5.7%2026
Hancock County$23/acre+4.5%2026
Scott County$20/acre—2026
Polk County— (not reported)—2026
Shelby County— (not reported)—2026
Van Buren County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.