USDA county ratesSource healthy

Minnesota Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$205/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $189
$19–$280County mean rangeAitkin County to Martin County
81Counties with a published rateof 87 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+1.8%Median county change vs 202579 counties published in both years

The median among 81 reporting counties was $189 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $205 per acre. Martin County had the highest reported county mean at $280. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +95.2% in St. Louis County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

1,143 published county-land-type records and 945 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$30020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $167Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $171Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $177Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $164Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $186Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $160Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $202Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $189Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $186Irrigated cropland, 2020: $187Irrigated cropland, 2021: $188Irrigated cropland, 2022: $197Irrigated cropland, 2023: $233Irrigated cropland, 2024: $223Irrigated cropland, 2025: $208Irrigated cropland, 2026: $229PasturePasture, 2019: $37Pasture, 2020: $26Pasture, 2021: $30Pasture, 2022: $25Pasture, 2023: $22Pasture, 2024: $22Pasture, 2025: $35Pasture, 2026: $39
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$16779
2020Not available$17183
2021Not available$17782
2022Not available$16475
2023Not available$18683
2024Not available$16072
2025$199$20281
2026$205$18981

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$18619
2020Not available$18718
2021Not available$18820
2022Not available$19716
2023Not available$23315
2024Not available$22312
2025$224$20814
2026$235$22917

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$3755
2020Not available$2652
2021Not available$3056
2022Not available$2543
2023Not available$2248
2024Not available$2228
2025$35$3544
2026$35$3950

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Martin County$280/acre-1.8%2026
Sibley County$278/acre0.0%2026
Dodge County$277/acre+1.8%2026
Goodhue County$277/acre—2026
Rock County$277/acre+15.4%2026
Mower County$276/acre+4.5%2026
Rice County$276/acre+7.0%2026
Kandiyohi County$275/acre+10.0%2026
Nicollet County$275/acre+6.6%2026
Freeborn County$272/acre-1.4%2026
Renville County$268/acre-0.4%2026
Fillmore County$263/acre+13.8%2026
Waseca County$263/acre+1.1%2026
Le Sueur County$258/acre+1.6%2026
Steele County$258/acre0.0%2026
Faribault County$254/acre-3.8%2026
Blue Earth County$252/acre-5.3%2026
Carver County$252/acre+9.1%2026
Dakota County$252/acre+5.9%2026
Watonwan County$252/acre-2.7%2026
Murray County$246/acre-0.4%2026
Olmsted County$246/acre+2.5%2026
Nobles County$244/acre-3.2%2026
Jackson County$243/acre+1.7%2026
Wabasha County$241/acre+3.4%2026
Brown County$236/acre+4.0%2026
Scott County$236/acre+12.9%2026
McLeod County$233/acre-7.2%2026
Pipestone County$233/acre+9.4%2026
Cottonwood County$231/acre-5.3%2026
Lyon County$230/acre+3.6%2026
Lincoln County$223/acre+1.4%2026
Swift County$220/acre-3.9%2026
Houston County$217/acre-1.4%2026
Meeker County$217/acre+2.4%2026
Lac qui Parle County$215/acre+1.4%2026
Chippewa County$212/acre-6.2%2026
Winona County$208/acre-15.4%2026
Wright County$192/acre+9.7%2026
Stearns County$191/acre+2.7%2026
Stevens County$189/acre-0.5%2026
Grant County$188/acre-6.9%2026
Big Stone County$184/acre+8.9%2026
Traverse County$182/acre-9.9%2026
Wilkin County$180/acre+19.2%2026
Pope County$177/acre+14.2%2026
Clay County$172/acre+1.2%2026
Polk County$166/acre+21.2%2026
Douglas County$162/acre+6.6%2026
Norman County$161/acre+5.9%2026
Washington County$145/acre-5.2%2026
Hennepin County$141/acre-2.8%2026
Benton County$128/acre+17.4%2026
Mahnomen County$128/acre-10.5%2026
Becker County$127/acre+1.6%2026
Otter Tail County$124/acre+27.2%2026
Marshall County$114/acre-5.0%2026
Todd County$110/acre-5.2%2026
Morrison County$94/acre+2.2%2026
Red Lake County$91/acre+2.8%2026
Kittson County$90/acre-3.2%2026
Pennington County$83/acre-4.6%2026
Chisago County$81/acre-2.4%2026
Mille Lacs County$81/acre-12.0%2026
Anoka County$71/acre-0.7%2026
Kanabec County$71/acre+12.8%2026
Roseau County$71/acre+9.3%2026
Sherburne County$66/acre+20.0%2026
Isanti County$60/acre—2026
Lake of the Woods County$59/acre+24.5%2026
Beltrami County$54/acre+14.9%2026
Clearwater County$48/acre+4.3%2026
Crow Wing County$45/acre+2.3%2026
Pine County$41/acre-19.8%2026
Itasca County$39/acre+27.9%2026
Wadena County$39/acre-9.3%2026
Cass County$30/acre+20.0%2026
Hubbard County$24/acre+46.9%2026
St. Louis County$21/acre+95.2%2026
Carlton County$19/acre-20.8%2026
Aitkin County$19/acre+5.7%2026
Yellow Medicine County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.