USDA county ratesSource healthy

Washington Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$75/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $71
$30–$256County mean rangeOkanogan County to Skagit County
25Counties with a published rateof 39 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+9.2%Median county change vs 202520 counties published in both years

The median among 25 reporting counties was $71 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $75 per acre. Skagit County had the highest reported county mean at $256. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +87.6% in Cowlitz County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

456 published county-land-type records and 480 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$300$40020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $57Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $48Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $55Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $64Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $65Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $70Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $58Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $71Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $305Irrigated cropland, 2020: $302Irrigated cropland, 2021: $260Irrigated cropland, 2022: $309Irrigated cropland, 2023: $311Irrigated cropland, 2024: $354Irrigated cropland, 2025: $345Irrigated cropland, 2026: $350PasturePasture, 2019: $17Pasture, 2020: $25Pasture, 2021: $20Pasture, 2022: $25Pasture, 2023: $11Pasture, 2024: $37Pasture, 2025: $14Pasture, 2026: $10
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$5720
2020Not available$488
2021Not available$5525
2022Not available$6424
2023Not available$6527
2024Not available$7021
2025Not available$5823
2026$75$7125

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$30516
2020Not available$3024
2021Not available$26021
2022Not available$30919
2023Not available$31121
2024Not available$35418
2025Not available$34516
2026$430$35014

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1714
2020Not available$2517
2021Not available$2025
2022Not available$2525
2023Not available$1122
2024Not available$3716
2025Not available$1421
2026$8$1014

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Skagit County$256/acre+2.8%2026
Whatcom County$181/acre-5.7%2026
Kitsap County$172/acre—2026
King County$164/acre+32.3%2026
Snohomish County$140/acre-6.7%2026
Island County$111/acre—2026
Columbia County$110/acre+67.9%2026
Clark County$90/acre+5.9%2026
Thurston County$90/acre+19.2%2026
Cowlitz County$84/acre+87.6%2026
Whitman County$79/acre-8.1%2026
Lewis County$77/acre+33.9%2026
Garfield County$71/acre+3.7%2026
Jefferson County$60/acre—2026
Lincoln County$57/acre+29.6%2026
Adams County$57/acre+29.9%2026
Asotin County$55/acre+4.8%2026
Douglas County$53/acre+39.5%2026
Grant County$52/acre—2026
Spokane County$50/acre-26.7%2026
Stevens County$50/acre+12.5%2026
Klickitat County$42/acre+50.9%2026
Pend Oreille County$39/acre+2.7%2026
Franklin County$34/acre-20.2%2026
Okanogan County$30/acre—2026
Benton County— (not reported)—2026
Kittitas County— (not reported)—2026
Pierce County— (not reported)—2026
San Juan County— (not reported)—2026
Walla Walla County— (not reported)—2026
Yakima County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.