South Dakota Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates
Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.
The median among 63 reporting counties was $112 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $140 per acre. Moody County had the highest reported county mean at $252. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was -29.2% in Butte County.
Geographic pattern
County map
Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.
Interactive map controls are loading…
State history
2019–2026 median among reporting counties
1,078 published county-land-type records and 506 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.
- Non-irrigated cropland
- Irrigated cropland
- Pasture
Year-by-year values by land type
Non-irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $98 | 64 |
| 2020 | Not available | $106 | 62 |
| 2021 | Not available | $109 | 62 |
| 2022 | Not available | $115 | 59 |
| 2023 | Not available | $107 | 63 |
| 2024 | Not available | $108 | 66 |
| 2025 | $136 | $117 | 64 |
| 2026 | $140 | $112 | 63 |
Irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $216 | 10 |
| 2020 | Not available | $223 | 9 |
| 2021 | Not available | $188 | 11 |
| 2022 | Not available | $230 | 12 |
| 2023 | Not available | $244 | 10 |
| 2024 | Not available | $249 | 8 |
| 2025 | $226 | $252 | 9 |
| 2026 | $235 | $259 | 13 |
Pasture
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $42 | 56 |
| 2020 | Not available | $44 | 62 |
| 2021 | Not available | $43 | 64 |
| 2022 | Not available | $46 | 60 |
| 2023 | Not available | $46 | 60 |
| 2024 | Not available | $47 | 64 |
| 2025 | $31 | $45 | 64 |
| 2026 | $31 | $47 | 63 |
Highest and lowest reported means
County rankings by land type
Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.
Non-irrigated cropland
Highest
- Moody County$252
- Union County$252
- Lincoln County$244
- Clay County$241
- Minnehaha County$221
Lowest
Irrigated cropland
Highest
- Yankton County$315
- Turner County$306
- Clay County$303
- Lake County$271
- Union County$269
Lowest
- Butte County$122
- Hughes County$168
- Brown County$200
- Beadle County$220
- Bon Homme County$235
Pasture
Highest
Lowest
Sortable county table
2026 county cash rents
Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.
| County | Non-irrigated cropland | YoY change | Rate year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moody County | $252/acre | +0.4% | 2026 |
| Union County | $252/acre | +7.2% | 2026 |
| Lincoln County | $244/acre | +5.2% | 2026 |
| Clay County | $241/acre | +13.2% | 2026 |
| Minnehaha County | $221/acre | +4.3% | 2026 |
| Turner County | $218/acre | +10.1% | 2026 |
| McCook County | $214/acre | +10.9% | 2026 |
| Brookings County | $205/acre | -1.0% | 2026 |
| Yankton County | $194/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Hanson County | $184/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Deuel County | $181/acre | -0.6% | 2026 |
| Lake County | $180/acre | -1.6% | 2026 |
| Roberts County | $179/acre | +2.9% | 2026 |
| Hamlin County | $176/acre | -9.3% | 2026 |
| Codington County | $175/acre | -0.6% | 2026 |
| Clark County | $170/acre | +12.6% | 2026 |
| Brown County | $166/acre | +0.6% | 2026 |
| Hutchinson County | $165/acre | -4.1% | 2026 |
| Bon Homme County | $160/acre | -2.4% | 2026 |
| Day County | $159/acre | +6.7% | 2026 |
| Kingsbury County | $158/acre | -2.5% | 2026 |
| Grant County | $155/acre | -1.3% | 2026 |
| Davison County | $153/acre | -3.8% | 2026 |
| Marshall County | $153/acre | +2.7% | 2026 |
| Miner County | $146/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Douglas County | $143/acre | -0.7% | 2026 |
| Charles Mix County | $142/acre | -2.1% | 2026 |
| Beadle County | $140/acre | +9.4% | 2026 |
| Aurora County | $139/acre | +9.4% | 2026 |
| Spink County | $139/acre | +10.3% | 2026 |
| Sanborn County | $138/acre | +7.0% | 2026 |
| Edmunds County | $112/acre | -5.9% | 2026 |
| Faulk County | $112/acre | +0.9% | 2026 |
| Potter County | $111/acre | +13.8% | 2026 |
| Brule County | $110/acre | -3.5% | 2026 |
| Hand County | $108/acre | +4.8% | 2026 |
| Jerauld County | $105/acre | -6.3% | 2026 |
| Walworth County | $105/acre | +7.7% | 2026 |
| Lyman County | $102/acre | +8.5% | 2026 |
| McPherson County | $100/acre | -5.2% | 2026 |
| Sully County | $97/acre | -0.5% | 2026 |
| Hyde County | $92/acre | +19.6% | 2026 |
| Hughes County | $90/acre | +16.2% | 2026 |
| Campbell County | $80/acre | -6.5% | 2026 |
| Gregory County | $73/acre | -8.8% | 2026 |
| Tripp County | $71/acre | -2.1% | 2026 |
| Haakon County | $54/acre | +7.0% | 2026 |
| Corson County | $51/acre | +9.8% | 2026 |
| Mellette County | $50/acre | +15.1% | 2026 |
| Stanley County | $49/acre | +14.1% | 2026 |
| Dewey County | $47/acre | -6.0% | 2026 |
| Todd County | $45/acre | +26.8% | 2026 |
| Butte County | $40/acre | -29.2% | 2026 |
| Jackson County | $40/acre | -15.8% | 2026 |
| Perkins County | $39/acre | -6.0% | 2026 |
| Pennington County | $37/acre | -1.3% | 2026 |
| Jones County | $36/acre | +7.6% | 2026 |
| Harding County | $33/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Bennett County | $32/acre | -5.9% | 2026 |
| Meade County | $31/acre | -8.8% | 2026 |
| Custer County | $29/acre | +18.8% | 2026 |
| Lawrence County | $25/acre | -13.8% | 2026 |
| Fall River County | $24/acre | — | 2026 |
| Buffalo County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
| Ziebach County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
Source and method
How to read this report
USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.
Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.
Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.
Read the full methodology
