USDA county ratesSource healthy

Illinois Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$261/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $254
$87–$347County mean rangeUnion County to Macon County
86Counties with a published rateof 102 counties; others suppressed or not reported
−1.7%Median county change vs 202585 counties published in both years

The median among 86 reporting counties was $254 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $261 per acre. Macon County had the highest reported county mean at $347. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +20.0% in Edwards County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

1,281 published county-land-type records and 1,167 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$30020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $210Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $209Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $217Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $226Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $247Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $246Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $251Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $254Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $250Irrigated cropland, 2020: $242Irrigated cropland, 2021: $243Irrigated cropland, 2022: $262Irrigated cropland, 2023: $263Irrigated cropland, 2024: $262Irrigated cropland, 2025: $272Irrigated cropland, 2026: $275PasturePasture, 2019: $40Pasture, 2020: $42Pasture, 2021: $41Pasture, 2022: $40Pasture, 2023: $39Pasture, 2024: $44Pasture, 2025: $47Pasture, 2026: $50
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$21094
2020Not available$20999
2021Not available$217100
2022Not available$22693
2023Not available$24797
2024Not available$24688
2025$264$25195
2026$261$25486

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2509
2020Not available$24216
2021Not available$24315
2022Not available$26213
2023Not available$26316
2024Not available$26212
2025$272$27215
2026$275$2759

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$4065
2020Not available$4264
2021Not available$4159
2022Not available$4059
2023Not available$3960
2024Not available$4436
2025$49$4738
2026$53$5043

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Macon County$347/acre-3.9%2026
Moultrie County$337/acre-3.7%2026
Sangamon County$334/acre-10.2%2026
Christian County$332/acre+7.4%2026
Logan County$326/acre-7.4%2026
McLean County$326/acre+7.6%2026
Champaign County$316/acre+6.4%2026
Douglas County$313/acre+4.7%2026
Cass County$306/acre+5.2%2026
Bureau County$301/acre-5.9%2026
De Witt County$301/acre-8.8%2026
Kendall County$297/acre-7.5%2026
Knox County$296/acre+6.1%2026
Ford County$294/acre+4.6%2026
Marshall County$293/acre+0.3%2026
McDonough County$293/acre-2.0%2026
Henderson County$292/acre-0.3%2026
Stark County$292/acre+1.4%2026
Grundy County$291/acre-7.9%2026
Montgomery County$291/acre-6.7%2026
Carroll County$290/acre-4.3%2026
Menard County$288/acre-9.2%2026
Coles County$286/acre-1.7%2026
Hancock County$284/acre-6.6%2026
Lee County$283/acre+3.7%2026
Ogle County$282/acre+1.1%2026
Morgan County$281/acre+5.6%2026
Warren County$281/acre+1.4%2026
Greene County$280/acre+2.2%2026
LaSalle County$277/acre+3.4%2026
Edgar County$275/acre-11.3%2026
Kane County$274/acre-2.5%2026
Mercer County$273/acre-7.5%2026
Scott County$273/acre+6.2%2026
Whiteside County$270/acre-5.9%2026
Boone County$267/acre-2.5%2026
Vermilion County$267/acre+12.2%2026
Tazewell County$266/acre-6.0%2026
Winnebago County$264/acre-8.3%2026
Fulton County$263/acre+1.5%2026
Mason County$257/acre-7.2%2026
Jo Daviess County$255/acre+1.2%2026
Shelby County$255/acre+11.8%2026
Peoria County$253/acre-4.5%2026
Kankakee County$250/acre+2.9%2026
Bond County$249/acre+7.3%2026
Madison County$249/acre+7.8%2026
Schuyler County$249/acre+11.2%2026
Clark County$248/acre+3.3%2026
Putnam County$246/acre+2.1%2026
Macoupin County$245/acre-7.2%2026
St. Clair County$243/acre-4.7%2026
Adams County$238/acre+3.5%2026
McHenry County$234/acre+6.4%2026
Brown County$233/acre+3.1%2026
Will County$231/acre+2.7%2026
Rock Island County$228/acre-8.4%2026
Jersey County$221/acre-2.6%2026
Lawrence County$219/acre-1.4%2026
Pike County$219/acre-5.2%2026
Cumberland County$211/acre+6.6%2026
Wabash County$202/acre-15.1%2026
Calhoun County$201/acre-9.5%2026
Crawford County$200/acre-10.3%2026
Effingham County$199/acre-2.9%2026
Richland County$196/acre+4.8%2026
Jasper County$195/acre-3.0%2026
Fayette County$192/acre+6.1%2026
Washington County$190/acre-2.6%2026
Wayne County$176/acre-2.8%2026
White County$175/acre-5.9%2026
Jackson County$172/acre+5.5%2026
Marion County$172/acre+3.6%2026
Perry County$172/acre+14.7%2026
Randolph County$166/acre-1.8%2026
Edwards County$156/acre+20.0%2026
Gallatin County$155/acre-4.9%2026
Pulaski County$152/acre-16.9%2026
Monroe County$151/acre-6.8%2026
Saline County$150/acre-12.8%2026
Cook County$136/acre+10.6%2026
Jefferson County$136/acre+5.4%2026
Franklin County$126/acre-3.8%2026
Lake County$125/acre-11.3%2026
Williamson County$101/acre+3.6%2026
Union County$87/acre—2026
Henry County— (not reported)—2026
Johnson County— (not reported)—2026
Pope County— (not reported)—2026
Stephenson County— (not reported)—2026
Woodford County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.