USDA county ratesSource healthy

West Virginia Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$39/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $30
$12–$103County mean rangeWirt County to Mason County
30Counties with a published rateof 55 counties; others suppressed or not reported
−0.7%Median county change vs 202522 counties published in both years

The median among 30 reporting counties was $30 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $39 per acre. Mason County had the highest reported county mean at $103. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was -52.2% in Grant County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

415 published county-land-type records and 905 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$10$20$30$40$5020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $26Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $29Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $28Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $30Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $28Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $29Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $39Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $30PasturePasture, 2019: $10Pasture, 2020: $12Pasture, 2021: $14Pasture, 2022: $12Pasture, 2023: $11Pasture, 2024: $13Pasture, 2025: $13Pasture, 2026: $15
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2627
2020Not available$2926
2021Not available$2832
2022Not available$3025
2023Not available$2827
2024Not available$2926
2025$45$3926
2026$39$3030

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not availableNot available0
2020Not availableNot available0
2021Not availableNot available0
2022Not availableNot available0
2023Not availableNot available0
2024Not availableNot available0
2025Not availableNot available0
2026Not availableNot available0

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1024
2020Not available$1227
2021Not available$1423
2022Not available$1223
2023Not available$1125
2024Not available$1322
2025$16$1327
2026$19$1525

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Mason County$103/acre+1.0%2026
Jefferson County$55/acre-23.6%2026
Wood County$55/acre—2026
Greenbrier County$51/acre+2.0%2026
Mercer County$47/acre—2026
Berkeley County$46/acre+2.2%2026
Hardy County$45/acre+11.1%2026
Hampshire County$43/acre-15.0%2026
Marion County$41/acre-2.4%2026
Monroe County$37/acre+7.3%2026
Pocahontas County$37/acre+2.8%2026
Tucker County$35/acre-7.9%2026
Pendleton County$35/acre-25.8%2026
Randolph County$34/acre-29.2%2026
Barbour County$32/acre+37.0%2026
Braxton County$29/acre+38.1%2026
Grant County$27/acre-52.2%2026
Mineral County$27/acre+8.0%2026
Preston County$27/acre-41.3%2026
Doddridge County$26/acre-28.8%2026
Jackson County$25/acre-51.0%2026
Nicholas County$25/acre+35.1%2026
Raleigh County$25/acre-18.0%2026
Taylor County$24/acre—2026
Lewis County$24/acre—2026
Morgan County$21/acre+23.5%2026
Harrison County$19/acre—2026
Monongalia County$18/acre—2026
Roane County$16/acre—2026
Wirt County$12/acre—2026
Calhoun County— (not reported)—2026
Summers County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.