USDA county ratesSource healthy

South Carolina Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$50/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $40
$15–$75County mean rangeUnion County to Horry County
38Counties with a published rateof 46 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+3.7%Median county change vs 202534 counties published in both years

The median among 38 reporting counties was $40 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $50 per acre. Horry County had the highest reported county mean at $75. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +32.3% in Abbeville County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

520 published county-land-type records and 584 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$50$100$15020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $32Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $33Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $33Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $33Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $40Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $37Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $40Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $40Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $101Irrigated cropland, 2020: $114Irrigated cropland, 2021: $119Irrigated cropland, 2022: $131Irrigated cropland, 2023: $95Irrigated cropland, 2024: $102Irrigated cropland, 2025: $99Irrigated cropland, 2026: $111PasturePasture, 2019: $18Pasture, 2020: $18Pasture, 2021: $20Pasture, 2022: $20Pasture, 2023: $19Pasture, 2024: $25Pasture, 2025: $21Pasture, 2026: $24
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$3236
2020Not available$3338
2021Not available$3341
2022Not available$3340
2023Not available$4037
2024Not available$3735
2025$50$4036
2026$50$4038

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1016
2020Not available$1147
2021Not available$1196
2022Not available$1316
2023Not available$958
2024Not available$1025
2025$118$999
2026$122$1117

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1824
2020Not available$1821
2021Not available$2023
2022Not available$2022
2023Not available$1921
2024Not available$2515
2025$21$2117
2026$25$2422

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Horry County$75/acre-4.5%2026
Marion County$64/acre+5.8%2026
Dillon County$61/acre+6.1%2026
Marlboro County$60/acre-0.8%2026
Calhoun County$54/acre+3.9%2026
Clarendon County$54/acre-0.9%2026
Lee County$52/acre-4.6%2026
Orangeburg County$50/acre+5.3%2026
Sumter County$50/acre-2.0%2026
Hampton County$49/acre+7.8%2026
Chesterfield County$48/acre+17.3%2026
Darlington County$47/acre-3.1%2026
Florence County$47/acre-3.1%2026
Dorchester County$45/acre-8.2%2026
Barnwell County$44/acre+7.3%2026
Colleton County$43/acre-1.2%2026
Richland County$42/acre—2026
Aiken County$41/acre+15.7%2026
Williamsburg County$40/acre-3.6%2026
Georgetown County$39/acre-2.5%2026
Bamberg County$39/acre-3.8%2026
Allendale County$38/acre+15.4%2026
Lancaster County$34/acre—2026
York County$34/acre-1.5%2026
Lexington County$33/acre+29.4%2026
Saluda County$33/acre+3.1%2026
Oconee County$33/acre—2026
Pickens County$29/acre-10.8%2026
Cherokee County$29/acre+18.8%2026
Greenville County$28/acre+24.4%2026
Berkeley County$27/acre+10.4%2026
Spartanburg County$27/acre-18.5%2026
Anderson County$24/acre+11.6%2026
Chester County$22/acre+7.3%2026
Abbeville County$21/acre+32.3%2026
Laurens County$20/acre+25.0%2026
Greenwood County$15/acre+3.5%2026
Union County$15/acre—2026
Fairfield County— (not reported)—2026
Kershaw County— (not reported)—2026
McCormick County— (not reported)—2026
Newberry County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.