Ohio Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates
Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.
The median among 76 reporting counties was $168 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $188 per acre. Shelby County had the highest reported county mean at $256. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +21.3% in Jefferson County.
Geographic pattern
County map
Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.
Interactive map controls are loading…
State history
2019–2026 median among reporting counties
828 published county-land-type records and 1,284 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.
- Non-irrigated cropland
- Irrigated cropland
- Pasture
Year-by-year values by land type
Non-irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $139 | 73 |
| 2020 | Not available | $148 | 78 |
| 2021 | Not available | $138 | 86 |
| 2022 | Not available | $149 | 83 |
| 2023 | Not available | $156 | 81 |
| 2024 | Not available | $136 | 72 |
| 2025 | $184 | $167 | 81 |
| 2026 | $188 | $168 | 76 |
Irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | Not available | 0 |
| 2020 | Not available | Not available | 0 |
| 2021 | Not available | Not available | 0 |
| 2022 | Not available | Not available | 0 |
| 2023 | Not available | $211 | 1 |
| 2024 | Not available | Not available | 0 |
| 2025 | $212 | Not available | 0 |
| 2026 | $220 | Not available | 0 |
Pasture
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $30 | 28 |
| 2020 | Not available | $36 | 25 |
| 2021 | Not available | $35 | 26 |
| 2022 | Not available | $25 | 23 |
| 2023 | Not available | $27 | 26 |
| 2024 | Not available | $30 | 13 |
| 2025 | $31 | $30 | 30 |
| 2026 | $37 | $32 | 26 |
Highest and lowest reported means
County rankings by land type
Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.
Non-irrigated cropland
Highest
- Shelby County$256
- Hardin County$250
- Clark County$247
- Fayette County$240
- Madison County$237
Lowest
Irrigated cropland
Highest
Not available
Lowest
Not available
Pasture
Highest
Lowest
Sortable county table
2026 county cash rents
Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.
| County | Non-irrigated cropland | YoY change | Rate year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shelby County | $256/acre | -1.2% | 2026 |
| Hardin County | $250/acre | +5.0% | 2026 |
| Clark County | $247/acre | +5.1% | 2026 |
| Fayette County | $240/acre | +1.3% | 2026 |
| Madison County | $237/acre | -1.3% | 2026 |
| Auglaize County | $234/acre | +2.6% | 2026 |
| Preble County | $232/acre | +3.1% | 2026 |
| Allen County | $226/acre | -1.3% | 2026 |
| Fulton County | $226/acre | +8.1% | 2026 |
| Greene County | $226/acre | +1.4% | 2026 |
| Van Wert County | $225/acre | -3.0% | 2026 |
| Franklin County | $218/acre | +4.3% | 2026 |
| Pickaway County | $218/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Champaign County | $217/acre | +6.4% | 2026 |
| Wyandot County | $217/acre | +3.3% | 2026 |
| Montgomery County | $215/acre | +8.6% | 2026 |
| Hancock County | $212/acre | +0.9% | 2026 |
| Miami County | $212/acre | +7.1% | 2026 |
| Crawford County | $209/acre | +2.5% | 2026 |
| Wood County | $208/acre | +5.0% | 2026 |
| Williams County | $206/acre | +6.2% | 2026 |
| Logan County | $202/acre | -3.4% | 2026 |
| Sandusky County | $201/acre | +2.0% | 2026 |
| Marion County | $195/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Union County | $194/acre | +2.1% | 2026 |
| Morrow County | $193/acre | +7.2% | 2026 |
| Erie County | $191/acre | +2.7% | 2026 |
| Delaware County | $190/acre | -3.5% | 2026 |
| Paulding County | $189/acre | +0.5% | 2026 |
| Fairfield County | $188/acre | +8.7% | 2026 |
| Huron County | $187/acre | -1.6% | 2026 |
| Ottawa County | $183/acre | -1.1% | 2026 |
| Seneca County | $178/acre | — | 2026 |
| Defiance County | $177/acre | +7.3% | 2026 |
| Lucas County | $175/acre | -2.2% | 2026 |
| Ross County | $174/acre | +5.5% | 2026 |
| Highland County | $173/acre | -4.4% | 2026 |
| Clinton County | $170/acre | -5.6% | 2026 |
| Butler County | $165/acre | +4.4% | 2026 |
| Richland County | $165/acre | -3.5% | 2026 |
| Brown County | $161/acre | -1.2% | 2026 |
| Licking County | $155/acre | +15.7% | 2026 |
| Wayne County | $154/acre | -14.0% | 2026 |
| Pike County | $147/acre | +7.3% | 2026 |
| Warren County | $140/acre | -6.7% | 2026 |
| Lorain County | $137/acre | -2.8% | 2026 |
| Adams County | $136/acre | -5.6% | 2026 |
| Ashland County | $129/acre | +0.8% | 2026 |
| Clermont County | $129/acre | -2.3% | 2026 |
| Holmes County | $127/acre | +6.7% | 2026 |
| Muskingum County | $120/acre | +20.6% | 2026 |
| Tuscarawas County | $120/acre | +8.1% | 2026 |
| Scioto County | $107/acre | +10.9% | 2026 |
| Perry County | $103/acre | +10.2% | 2026 |
| Mahoning County | $102/acre | +12.1% | 2026 |
| Medina County | $100/acre | -7.9% | 2026 |
| Coshocton County | $95/acre | -1.0% | 2026 |
| Columbiana County | $94/acre | +3.9% | 2026 |
| Stark County | $88/acre | -1.7% | 2026 |
| Trumbull County | $83/acre | -5.7% | 2026 |
| Portage County | $82/acre | -5.2% | 2026 |
| Summit County | $80/acre | -10.1% | 2026 |
| Jackson County | $74/acre | — | 2026 |
| Geauga County | $66/acre | +6.5% | 2026 |
| Washington County | $65/acre | -3.0% | 2026 |
| Carroll County | $65/acre | +9.3% | 2026 |
| Gallia County | $63/acre | -8.8% | 2026 |
| Guernsey County | $56/acre | +7.7% | 2026 |
| Morgan County | $56/acre | +1.8% | 2026 |
| Athens County | $55/acre | — | 2026 |
| Ashtabula County | $53/acre | -7.0% | 2026 |
| Harrison County | $51/acre | +16.1% | 2026 |
| Lawrence County | $51/acre | -15.8% | 2026 |
| Noble County | $48/acre | — | 2026 |
| Jefferson County | $46/acre | +21.3% | 2026 |
| Belmont County | $27/acre | +10.4% | 2026 |
| Knox County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
| Monroe County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
Source and method
How to read this report
USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.
Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.
Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.
Read the full methodology
