USDA county ratesSource healthy

North Carolina Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$104/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $81
$33–$182County mean rangePolk County to Hyde County
86Counties with a published rateof 100 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+0.4%Median county change vs 202582 counties published in both years

The median among 86 reporting counties was $81 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $104 per acre. Hyde County had the highest reported county mean at $182. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +25.4% in Yancey County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

1,149 published county-land-type records and 1,251 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$50$100$15020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $73Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $70Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $72Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $75Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $71Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $72Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $81Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $81Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $100Irrigated cropland, 2020: $98Irrigated cropland, 2021: $102Irrigated cropland, 2022: $100Irrigated cropland, 2023: $135Irrigated cropland, 2024: $115Irrigated cropland, 2025: $100Irrigated cropland, 2026: $120PasturePasture, 2019: $26Pasture, 2020: $28Pasture, 2021: $29Pasture, 2022: $26Pasture, 2023: $26Pasture, 2024: $29Pasture, 2025: $30Pasture, 2026: $35
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$7380
2020Not available$7080
2021Not available$7292
2022Not available$7587
2023Not available$7187
2024Not available$7285
2025$105$8189
2026$104$8186

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$10015
2020Not available$9817
2021Not available$10219
2022Not available$10015
2023Not available$13513
2024Not available$1154
2025$140$1002
2026$137$1208

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2645
2020Not available$2847
2021Not available$2952
2022Not available$2640
2023Not available$2645
2024Not available$2943
2025$31$3047
2026$38$3551

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Hyde County$182/acre-3.2%2026
Tyrrell County$181/acre+5.8%2026
Wilson County$154/acre-0.7%2026
Greene County$136/acre+8.8%2026
Washington County$136/acre-2.2%2026
Pasquotank County$135/acre+8.9%2026
Wayne County$134/acre-0.7%2026
Bertie County$133/acre+8.1%2026
Beaufort County$130/acre-2.3%2026
Lenoir County$126/acre+5.0%2026
Nash County$126/acre+9.6%2026
Pitt County$123/acre+8.8%2026
Edgecombe County$122/acre+4.3%2026
Halifax County$121/acre-1.6%2026
Harnett County$121/acre+9.0%2026
Sampson County$120/acre+9.1%2026
Henderson County$117/acre—2026
Martin County$116/acre-1.7%2026
Northampton County$116/acre+2.6%2026
Hertford County$115/acre-5.7%2026
Johnston County$114/acre-0.9%2026
Gates County$112/acre+9.8%2026
Perquimans County$112/acre+9.8%2026
Onslow County$109/acre-0.9%2026
Cumberland County$105/acre+11.1%2026
Union County$105/acre+12.9%2026
Transylvania County$100/acre+13.6%2026
Alleghany County$99/acre-9.2%2026
Chowan County$99/acre-7.5%2026
Pamlico County$99/acre-1.0%2026
Currituck County$98/acre-2.0%2026
Pender County$93/acre+12.1%2026
Craven County$93/acre-2.6%2026
Surry County$92/acre+12.2%2026
Ashe County$92/acre-6.6%2026
Yadkin County$91/acre+8.3%2026
Duplin County$89/acre-1.1%2026
Carteret County$88/acre-1.1%2026
Columbus County$86/acre-0.6%2026
Iredell County$86/acre+13.3%2026
Stanly County$83/acre-1.2%2026
Wake County$83/acre+13.7%2026
Bladen County$83/acre-1.2%2026
Avery County$80/acre—2026
Lee County$80/acre-10.2%2026
Brunswick County$78/acre-5.5%2026
Robeson County$75/acre-3.2%2026
Cherokee County$74/acre+14.7%2026
Madison County$74/acre+1.4%2026
Rowan County$74/acre+5.7%2026
Anson County$72/acre-11.1%2026
Forsyth County$72/acre+15.3%2026
Scotland County$71/acre-0.7%2026
Cabarrus County$70/acre-11.4%2026
Haywood County$69/acre+15.1%2026
Randolph County$68/acre-5.6%2026
Person County$68/acre+15.4%2026
Davie County$67/acre+1.5%2026
McDowell County$67/acre—2026
Franklin County$66/acre-5.0%2026
Granville County$66/acre-12.6%2026
Watauga County$62/acre-6.1%2026
Wilkes County$62/acre-9.5%2026
Moore County$59/acre+7.3%2026
Mitchell County$56/acre—2026
Alexander County$56/acre+2.8%2026
Alamance County$53/acre+14.1%2026
Davidson County$50/acre-13.0%2026
Stokes County$50/acre-10.8%2026
Lincoln County$49/acre+10.2%2026
Rockingham County$49/acre-14.2%2026
Warren County$48/acre-1.0%2026
Durham County$47/acre+8.1%2026
Catawba County$47/acre+20.8%2026
Buncombe County$46/acre-9.8%2026
Montgomery County$46/acre+18.2%2026
Orange County$45/acre+11.3%2026
Yancey County$45/acre+25.4%2026
Guilford County$44/acre+12.8%2026
Rutherford County$44/acre-7.4%2026
Burke County$43/acre+10.3%2026
Cleveland County$43/acre+6.3%2026
Caswell County$42/acre+16.7%2026
Chatham County$41/acre-7.9%2026
Gaston County$35/acre-5.4%2026
Polk County$33/acre-2.9%2026
Caldwell County— (not reported)—2026
Jones County— (not reported)—2026
Mecklenburg County— (not reported)—2026
Swain County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.