USDA county ratesSource healthy

New Mexico Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$21/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $19
Not availableCounty mean range
3Counties with a published rateof 33 counties; others suppressed or not reported
−18.5%Median county change vs 20253 counties published in both years

The median among 3 reporting counties was $19 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $21 per acre. Curry County had the highest reported county mean at $28. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was -25.5% in Roosevelt County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

314 published county-land-type records and 478 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$50$100$150$20020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $18Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $17Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $19Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $15Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $18Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $22Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $19Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $19Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $125Irrigated cropland, 2020: $104Irrigated cropland, 2021: $123Irrigated cropland, 2022: $150Irrigated cropland, 2023: $168Irrigated cropland, 2024: $129Irrigated cropland, 2025: $140Irrigated cropland, 2026: $166PasturePasture, 2019: $2Pasture, 2020: $2Pasture, 2021: $2Pasture, 2022: $2Pasture, 2023: $3Pasture, 2024: $3Pasture, 2025: $3Pasture, 2026: $3
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$183
2020Not available$173
2021Not available$192
2022Not available$154
2023Not available$182
2024Not available$224
2025$19$194
2026$21$193

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$12510
2020Not available$10420
2021Not available$12316
2022Not available$15010
2023Not available$16813
2024Not available$12914
2025$152$14013
2026$159$16610

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$227
2020Not available$224
2021Not available$225
2022Not available$225
2023Not available$323
2024Not available$320
2025$4$323
2026$4$316

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Curry County$28/acre+17.0%2026
Roosevelt County$19/acre-25.5%2026
Quay County$11/acre-18.5%2026
Chaves County— (not reported)—2026
Cibola County— (not reported)—2026
De Baca County— (not reported)—2026
Doña Ana County— (not reported)—2026
Eddy County— (not reported)—2026
Guadalupe County— (not reported)—2026
Harding County— (not reported)—2026
Lea County— (not reported)—2026
Lincoln County— (not reported)—2026
Luna County— (not reported)—2026
Rio Arriba County— (not reported)—2026
San Juan County— (not reported)—2026
San Miguel County— (not reported)—2026
Sandoval County— (not reported)—2026
Santa Fe County— (not reported)—2026
Torrance County— (not reported)—2026
Union County— (not reported)—2026
Valencia County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.