USDA county ratesSource healthy

Montana Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$33/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $31
$19–$46County mean rangeBeaverhead County to Cascade County
40Counties with a published rateof 56 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+2.1%Median county change vs 202538 counties published in both years

The median among 40 reporting counties was $31 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $33 per acre. Cascade County had the highest reported county mean at $46. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +37.1% in Lake County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

955 published county-land-type records and 389 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$50$100$15020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $25Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $25Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $27Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $28Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $28Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $29Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $30Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $31Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $74Irrigated cropland, 2020: $75Irrigated cropland, 2021: $85Irrigated cropland, 2022: $89Irrigated cropland, 2023: $85Irrigated cropland, 2024: $96Irrigated cropland, 2025: $95Irrigated cropland, 2026: $98PasturePasture, 2019: $7Pasture, 2020: $7Pasture, 2021: $7Pasture, 2022: $8Pasture, 2023: $8Pasture, 2024: $8Pasture, 2025: $8Pasture, 2026: $10
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2543
2020Not available$2543
2021Not available$2745
2022Not available$2836
2023Not available$2835
2024Not available$2939
2025$33$3044
2026$33$3140

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$7430
2020Not available$7533
2021Not available$8531
2022Not available$8932
2023Not available$8527
2024Not available$9629
2025$104$9527
2026$112$9829

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$752
2020Not available$753
2021Not available$752
2022Not available$851
2023Not available$849
2024Not available$844
2025$8$843
2026$9$1048

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Cascade County$46/acre+2.3%2026
Pondera County$44/acre+6.0%2026
Flathead County$43/acre-5.6%2026
Lake County$43/acre+37.1%2026
Sheridan County$43/acre+6.3%2026
Teton County$42/acre+9.1%2026
Gallatin County$39/acre+2.6%2026
Prairie County$39/acre+5.5%2026
Chouteau County$37/acre0.0%2026
Dawson County$36/acre+7.6%2026
Ravalli County$36/acre—2026
Fergus County$35/acre+11.3%2026
Judith Basin County$34/acre+1.5%2026
Daniels County$33/acre+3.1%2026
Richland County$33/acre+15.8%2026
Carbon County$33/acre+10.2%2026
Park County$33/acre-8.4%2026
Wibaux County$33/acre+8.3%2026
Hill County$31/acre-1.6%2026
Phillips County$31/acre+22.0%2026
Toole County$31/acre-10.3%2026
Roosevelt County$30/acre-7.7%2026
Liberty County$30/acre+1.7%2026
Blaine County$29/acre+3.6%2026
Garfield County$29/acre+11.5%2026
Glacier County$29/acre0.0%2026
Golden Valley County$29/acre+14.0%2026
Big Horn County$28/acre-6.8%2026
Yellowstone County$28/acre+3.8%2026
McCone County$27/acre-8.5%2026
Valley County$27/acre-11.5%2026
Fallon County$27/acre+1.9%2026
Rosebud County$25/acre-13.8%2026
Musselshell County$23/acre-14.8%2026
Jefferson County$23/acre-13.5%2026
Carter County$22/acre-2.3%2026
Sanders County$22/acre0.0%2026
Wheatland County$22/acre+22.9%2026
Stillwater County$20/acre-2.4%2026
Beaverhead County$19/acre—2026
Broadwater County— (not reported)—2026
Custer County— (not reported)—2026
Lewis and Clark County— (not reported)—2026
Madison County— (not reported)—2026
Meagher County— (not reported)—2026
Missoula County— (not reported)—2026
Petroleum County— (not reported)—2026
Powder River County— (not reported)—2026
Powell County— (not reported)—2026
Silver Bow County— (not reported)—2026
Sweet Grass County— (not reported)—2026
Treasure County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.