Mississippi Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates
Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.
The median among 71 reporting counties was $67 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $103 per acre. Washington County had the highest reported county mean at $172. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +91.7% in Wayne County.
Geographic pattern
County map
Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.
Interactive map controls are loading…
State history
2019–2026 median among reporting counties
1,120 published county-land-type records and 848 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.
- Non-irrigated cropland
- Irrigated cropland
- Pasture
Year-by-year values by land type
Non-irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $56 | 64 |
| 2020 | Not available | $56 | 73 |
| 2021 | Not available | $55 | 71 |
| 2022 | Not available | $53 | 70 |
| 2023 | Not available | $58 | 71 |
| 2024 | Not available | $64 | 63 |
| 2025 | $100 | $64 | 68 |
| 2026 | $103 | $67 | 71 |
Irrigated cropland
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $152 | 14 |
| 2020 | Not available | $146 | 15 |
| 2021 | Not available | $152 | 16 |
| 2022 | Not available | $157 | 17 |
| 2023 | Not available | $161 | 18 |
| 2024 | Not available | $178 | 16 |
| 2025 | $180 | $182 | 15 |
| 2026 | $185 | $189 | 20 |
Pasture
| Year | USDA state mean | County median | Counties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Not available | $19 | 57 |
| 2020 | Not available | $19 | 60 |
| 2021 | Not available | $20 | 59 |
| 2022 | Not available | $20 | 56 |
| 2023 | Not available | $22 | 57 |
| 2024 | Not available | $22 | 45 |
| 2025 | $23 | $22 | 51 |
| 2026 | $24 | $21 | 53 |
Highest and lowest reported means
County rankings by land type
Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.
Non-irrigated cropland
Highest
- Washington County$172
- Coahoma County$155
- Warren County$155
- Humphreys County$153
- Issaquena County$153
Lowest
Irrigated cropland
Highest
- Tallahatchie County$204
- Humphreys County$203
- Issaquena County$202
- Carroll County$197
- Holmes County$197
Lowest
- Marshall County$139
- Calhoun County$146
- Tunica County$157
- Chickasaw County$165
- Sharkey County$175
Pasture
Highest
Lowest
Sortable county table
2026 county cash rents
Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.
| County | Non-irrigated cropland | YoY change | Rate year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington County | $172/acre | +7.5% | 2026 |
| Coahoma County | $155/acre | +8.4% | 2026 |
| Warren County | $155/acre | +1.3% | 2026 |
| Humphreys County | $153/acre | +9.3% | 2026 |
| Issaquena County | $153/acre | +16.8% | 2026 |
| Yazoo County | $152/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Tallahatchie County | $147/acre | +5.8% | 2026 |
| Holmes County | $146/acre | +2.8% | 2026 |
| Sharkey County | $145/acre | +6.6% | 2026 |
| Leflore County | $140/acre | +9.4% | 2026 |
| Calhoun County | $132/acre | +2.3% | 2026 |
| Webster County | $125/acre | -3.1% | 2026 |
| Bolivar County | $123/acre | +7.9% | 2026 |
| Sunflower County | $123/acre | -8.2% | 2026 |
| Panola County | $120/acre | -2.4% | 2026 |
| Grenada County | $112/acre | -8.9% | 2026 |
| Quitman County | $111/acre | -0.9% | 2026 |
| DeSoto County | $110/acre | -0.9% | 2026 |
| Yalobusha County | $104/acre | -14.8% | 2026 |
| Claiborne County | $102/acre | -1.0% | 2026 |
| Lafayette County | $101/acre | +11.0% | 2026 |
| Montgomery County | $100/acre | -5.7% | 2026 |
| Tunica County | $98/acre | -11.7% | 2026 |
| Lee County | $90/acre | — | 2026 |
| Chickasaw County | $89/acre | +23.8% | 2026 |
| Attala County | $85/acre | -3.4% | 2026 |
| Monroe County | $83/acre | +23.0% | 2026 |
| Noxubee County | $81/acre | -14.4% | 2026 |
| Marshall County | $79/acre | +19.9% | 2026 |
| Benton County | $77/acre | — | 2026 |
| Carroll County | $77/acre | +15.0% | 2026 |
| Tate County | $74/acre | +17.6% | 2026 |
| Copiah County | $73/acre | +22.9% | 2026 |
| Madison County | $70/acre | -6.0% | 2026 |
| Rankin County | $70/acre | +3.7% | 2026 |
| Pontotoc County | $67/acre | -13.6% | 2026 |
| Hinds County | $66/acre | -6.4% | 2026 |
| Prentiss County | $66/acre | -7.7% | 2026 |
| Union County | $66/acre | +5.6% | 2026 |
| Tippah County | $65/acre | +19.3% | 2026 |
| Alcorn County | $60/acre | +9.2% | 2026 |
| Covington County | $60/acre | +10.2% | 2026 |
| George County | $59/acre | +43.9% | 2026 |
| Oktibbeha County | $55/acre | -9.2% | 2026 |
| Jefferson County | $50/acre | — | 2026 |
| Lowndes County | $48/acre | -12.8% | 2026 |
| Scott County | $46/acre | -1.1% | 2026 |
| Pearl River County | $45/acre | — | 2026 |
| Marion County | $44/acre | -5.4% | 2026 |
| Jones County | $42/acre | +44.8% | 2026 |
| Leake County | $41/acre | +17.4% | 2026 |
| Tishomingo County | $40/acre | +27.0% | 2026 |
| Lamar County | $35/acre | +11.3% | 2026 |
| Newton County | $32/acre | +56.1% | 2026 |
| Pike County | $32/acre | +4.9% | 2026 |
| Smith County | $31/acre | +44.2% | 2026 |
| Choctaw County | $31/acre | +22.0% | 2026 |
| Clay County | $30/acre | — | 2026 |
| Greene County | $29/acre | — | 2026 |
| Lincoln County | $26/acre | +8.5% | 2026 |
| Walthall County | $25/acre | -7.5% | 2026 |
| Clarke County | $23/acre | -9.8% | 2026 |
| Neshoba County | $23/acre | -8.0% | 2026 |
| Wayne County | $23/acre | +91.7% | 2026 |
| Franklin County | $22/acre | -31.3% | 2026 |
| Jefferson Davis County | $22/acre | 0.0% | 2026 |
| Amite County | $21/acre | -2.3% | 2026 |
| Jasper County | $20/acre | -11.4% | 2026 |
| Lawrence County | $19/acre | -31.5% | 2026 |
| Wilkinson County | $15/acre | -29.3% | 2026 |
| Kemper County | $11/acre | -35.3% | 2026 |
| Itawamba County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
| Stone County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
| Winston County | — (not reported) | — | 2026 |
Source and method
How to read this report
USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.
Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.
Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.
Read the full methodology
