USDA county ratesSource healthy

Maryland Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$129/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $117
$28–$191County mean rangeAllegany County to Kent County
21Counties with a published rateof 24 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+5.5%Median county change vs 202519 counties published in both years

The median among 21 reporting counties was $117 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $129 per acre. Kent County had the highest reported county mean at $191. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +32.6% in Harford County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

233 published county-land-type records and 343 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$30020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $86Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $88Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $92Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $90Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $97Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $116Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $114Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $117Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2020: $206Irrigated cropland, 2021: $199Irrigated cropland, 2022: $209Irrigated cropland, 2023: $219Irrigated cropland, 2024: $228Irrigated cropland, 2025: $261Irrigated cropland, 2026: $259PasturePasture, 2019: $49Pasture, 2020: $60Pasture, 2021: $42Pasture, 2022: $50Pasture, 2023: $62Pasture, 2024: $47Pasture, 2025: $58Pasture, 2026: $42
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$8618
2020Not available$8818
2021Not available$9219
2022Not available$9019
2023Not available$9719
2024Not available$11620
2025$120$11419
2026$129$11721

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not availableNot available0
2020Not available$2063
2021Not available$1995
2022Not available$2094
2023Not available$2194
2024Not available$2284
2025$227$2613
2026$233$2593

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$496
2020Not available$607
2021Not available$427
2022Not available$505
2023Not available$629
2024Not available$477
2025$59$586
2026$63$427

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Kent County$191/acre+5.5%2026
Queen Anne's County$177/acre+6.0%2026
Harford County$171/acre+32.6%2026
Baltimore County$156/acre-3.1%2026
Caroline County$140/acre+2.2%2026
Talbot County$136/acre-2.2%2026
Cecil County$131/acre-2.2%2026
Washington County$128/acre+6.7%2026
Frederick County$123/acre+7.9%2026
Worcester County$118/acre+12.4%2026
Dorchester County$117/acre+7.3%2026
Wicomico County$114/acre+7.5%2026
Montgomery County$111/acre-5.9%2026
Somerset County$102/acre-4.7%2026
Calvert County$68/acre-2.9%2026
Anne Arundel County$66/acre—2026
St. Mary's County$53/acre+12.9%2026
Prince George's County$51/acre+23.2%2026
Garrett County$45/acre-14.4%2026
Charles County$44/acre-12.9%2026
Allegany County$28/acre—2026
Carroll County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.