USDA county ratesSource healthy

Indiana Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$230/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $217
$127–$303County mean rangePerry County to Warren County
89Counties with a published rateof 92 counties; others suppressed or not reported
−0.9%Median county change vs 202588 counties published in both years

The median among 89 reporting counties was $217 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $230 per acre. Warren County had the highest reported county mean at $303. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +20.5% in Dubois County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

964 published county-land-type records and 1,244 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$100$200$30020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $183Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $181Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $185Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $193Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $207Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $215Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $213Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $217Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $232Irrigated cropland, 2020: $236Irrigated cropland, 2021: $238Irrigated cropland, 2022: $255Irrigated cropland, 2023: $274Irrigated cropland, 2024: $284Irrigated cropland, 2025: $261Irrigated cropland, 2026: $276PasturePasture, 2019: $41Pasture, 2020: $49Pasture, 2021: $50Pasture, 2022: $48Pasture, 2023: $44Pasture, 2024: $42Pasture, 2025: $53Pasture, 2026: $56
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$18376
2020Not available$18182
2021Not available$18590
2022Not available$19389
2023Not available$20790
2024Not available$21589
2025$225$21390
2026$230$21789

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$23216
2020Not available$23612
2021Not available$23810
2022Not available$25513
2023Not available$27415
2024Not available$28415
2025$274$26115
2026$277$27614

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$4118
2020Not available$495
2021Not available$503
2022Not available$4828
2023Not available$4425
2024Not available$4215
2025$54$5331
2026$61$5634

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Warren County$303/acre+5.6%2026
Benton County$300/acre-8.3%2026
Clinton County$298/acre+3.5%2026
Montgomery County$287/acre+7.5%2026
Wells County$279/acre+11.6%2026
Carroll County$275/acre-4.8%2026
Tipton County$275/acre-1.8%2026
Vermillion County$270/acre+8.9%2026
Tippecanoe County$267/acre+0.8%2026
Fountain County$265/acre-2.9%2026
Boone County$264/acre-1.5%2026
White County$263/acre+11.4%2026
Hendricks County$260/acre+15.0%2026
Daviess County$255/acre+4.1%2026
Fayette County$255/acre+0.4%2026
Howard County$255/acre-8.6%2026
Shelby County$249/acre+5.5%2026
Blackford County$246/acre-2.0%2026
Madison County$245/acre+10.4%2026
Vigo County$244/acre+2.1%2026
Rush County$242/acre-4.0%2026
Delaware County$240/acre+12.2%2026
Hancock County$240/acre-4.0%2026
Hamilton County$239/acre-7.7%2026
Cass County$237/acre-0.8%2026
Adams County$235/acre+8.3%2026
Decatur County$235/acre-2.1%2026
Jasper County$235/acre-3.3%2026
Newton County$235/acre-4.9%2026
Vanderburgh County$233/acre+12.0%2026
Elkhart County$230/acre+14.4%2026
Sullivan County$230/acre+13.3%2026
Knox County$229/acre+7.5%2026
Johnson County$228/acre-7.7%2026
Posey County$225/acre-4.3%2026
Bartholomew County$224/acre+9.3%2026
Putnam County$224/acre+5.7%2026
Union County$220/acre-7.6%2026
Allen County$219/acre+9.5%2026
Kosciusko County$219/acre+11.7%2026
Marshall County$219/acre-4.0%2026
Clay County$218/acre+2.4%2026
Miami County$218/acre-0.9%2026
Jay County$217/acre-0.5%2026
Pulaski County$217/acre-3.1%2026
Gibson County$216/acre-3.6%2026
Wayne County$214/acre+2.9%2026
Jennings County$209/acre-2.8%2026
Orange County$209/acre-3.7%2026
Randolph County$209/acre+13.0%2026
Fulton County$208/acre-8.8%2026
Henry County$203/acre-7.7%2026
Wabash County$201/acre-1.9%2026
Dubois County$200/acre+20.5%2026
Huntington County$200/acre-3.9%2026
LaPorte County$200/acre-7.0%2026
Whitley County$199/acre-8.3%2026
Greene County$197/acre+12.6%2026
Parke County$197/acre-10.4%2026
Jackson County$196/acre-1.5%2026
St. Joseph County$196/acre+3.2%2026
Grant County$195/acre-1.5%2026
Porter County$195/acre-5.8%2026
Pike County$194/acre+3.7%2026
Martin County$190/acre—2026
Morgan County$190/acre-8.2%2026
Noble County$190/acre+4.4%2026
Lake County$186/acre-3.1%2026
Marion County$185/acre-2.1%2026
Spencer County$185/acre+1.1%2026
Lawrence County$179/acre+14.0%2026
Franklin County$177/acre+7.3%2026
Warrick County$175/acre-9.3%2026
Ripley County$174/acre+2.4%2026
Harrison County$170/acre+6.9%2026
Starke County$170/acre0.0%2026
Washington County$168/acre+16.7%2026
Owen County$162/acre-3.6%2026
LaGrange County$159/acre-8.6%2026
Scott County$155/acre+6.2%2026
Steuben County$153/acre-1.9%2026
Clark County$150/acre+16.3%2026
Jefferson County$150/acre-4.5%2026
Monroe County$149/acre+14.6%2026
Dearborn County$147/acre-9.3%2026
DeKalb County$146/acre-4.0%2026
Brown County$134/acre-1.5%2026
Switzerland County$134/acre-1.5%2026
Perry County$127/acre+1.6%2026
Crawford County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.