USDA county ratesSource healthy

California Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$39/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $35
$22–$68County mean rangeFresno County to Sacramento County
20Counties with a published rateof 58 counties; others suppressed or not reported
Not availableYear-over-year changeNo county has a consecutive-year value

The median among 20 reporting counties was $35 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $39 per acre. Sacramento County had the highest reported county mean at $68. No compatible consecutive-year change is available.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

734 published county-land-type records and 658 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$200$400$60020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $26Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $36Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $28Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $33Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $35Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $24Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $27Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $35Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $376Irrigated cropland, 2020: $360Irrigated cropland, 2021: $353Irrigated cropland, 2022: $377Irrigated cropland, 2023: $373Irrigated cropland, 2024: $403Irrigated cropland, 2025: $360Irrigated cropland, 2026: $437PasturePasture, 2019: $15Pasture, 2020: $14Pasture, 2021: $13Pasture, 2022: $13Pasture, 2023: $14Pasture, 2024: $16Pasture, 2025: $19Pasture, 2026: $18
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2621
2020Not available$3618
2021Not available$2834
2022Not available$3312
2023Not available$3525
2024Not available$2428
2025$40$271
2026$39$3520

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$37637
2020Not available$36031
2021Not available$35340
2022Not available$37737
2023Not available$37336
2024Not available$40334
2025$483$36039
2026$470$43741

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1530
2020Not available$1437
2021Not available$1336
2022Not available$1337
2023Not available$1436
2024Not available$1632
2025$16$1934
2026$17$1838

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Sacramento County$68/acre—2026
Madera County$66/acre—2026
Amador County$65/acre—2026
Marin County$64/acre—2026
Sonoma County$58/acre—2026
Stanislaus County$55/acre—2026
Yolo County$43/acre—2026
Tulare County$42/acre—2026
Placer County$42/acre—2026
Shasta County$37/acre—2026
El Dorado County$33/acre—2026
Merced County$33/acre—2026
Lassen County$32/acre—2026
Contra Costa County$31/acre—2026
Mariposa County$30/acre—2026
Solano County$30/acre—2026
Tehama County$30/acre—2026
Alameda County$27/acre—2026
Glenn County$24/acre—2026
Fresno County$22/acre—2026
Butte County— (not reported)—2026
Calaveras County— (not reported)—2026
Colusa County— (not reported)—2026
Del Norte County— (not reported)—2026
Humboldt County— (not reported)—2026
Imperial County— (not reported)—2026
Inyo County— (not reported)—2026
Kern County— (not reported)—2026
Kings County— (not reported)—2026
Lake County— (not reported)—2026
Los Angeles County— (not reported)—2026
Mendocino County— (not reported)—2026
Modoc County— (not reported)—2026
Monterey County— (not reported)—2026
Napa County— (not reported)—2026
Nevada County— (not reported)—2026
Orange County— (not reported)—2026
Riverside County— (not reported)—2026
San Benito County— (not reported)—2026
San Bernardino County— (not reported)—2026
San Diego County— (not reported)—2026
San Joaquin County— (not reported)—2026
San Luis Obispo County— (not reported)—2026
San Mateo County— (not reported)—2026
Santa Barbara County— (not reported)—2026
Santa Clara County— (not reported)—2026
Santa Cruz County— (not reported)—2026
Siskiyou County— (not reported)—2026
Sutter County— (not reported)—2026
Tuolumne County— (not reported)—2026
Ventura County— (not reported)—2026
Yuba County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.