USDA county ratesSource healthy

Alabama Cash Rent by County — 2026 USDA Rates

Compare mean annual cash rent per acre for non-irrigated cropland, irrigated cropland, and pasture. Every summary keeps land type and rate year separate, with active history from 2019 through 2026.

2026 USDA rate year
$75/acreUSDA statewide meanMedian of county means: $46
$15–$139County mean rangeChoctaw County to Limestone County
59Counties with a published rateof 67 counties; others suppressed or not reported
+4.4%Median county change vs 202554 counties published in both years

The median among 59 reporting counties was $46 per acre. USDA's separately published statewide mean was $75 per acre. Limestone County had the highest reported county mean at $139. The largest absolute consecutive-year change was +68.3% in Lee County.

Geographic pattern

County map

Exact rates remain available in the county table below; the map is optional and lazy-loaded.

Interactive map controls are loading…

State history

2019–2026 median among reporting counties

1,021 published county-land-type records and 587 suppressed or missing records are retained. Unavailable annual values are shown explicitly and never interpolated.

Median of reporting county means, dollars per acre per year. The reporting county set can differ by year.
  • Non-irrigated cropland
  • Irrigated cropland
  • Pasture
$0$50$100$150$20020192020202120222023202420252026Non-irrigated croplandNon-irrigated cropland, 2019: $36Non-irrigated cropland, 2020: $40Non-irrigated cropland, 2021: $40Non-irrigated cropland, 2022: $42Non-irrigated cropland, 2023: $44Non-irrigated cropland, 2024: $40Non-irrigated cropland, 2025: $44Non-irrigated cropland, 2026: $46Irrigated croplandIrrigated cropland, 2019: $130Irrigated cropland, 2020: $133Irrigated cropland, 2021: $128Irrigated cropland, 2022: $155Irrigated cropland, 2023: $144Irrigated cropland, 2024: $131Irrigated cropland, 2025: $159Irrigated cropland, 2026: $152PasturePasture, 2019: $22Pasture, 2020: $23Pasture, 2021: $22Pasture, 2022: $23Pasture, 2023: $23Pasture, 2024: $22Pasture, 2025: $23Pasture, 2026: $26
Year-by-year values by land type

Non-irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$3661
2020Not available$4063
2021Not available$4063
2022Not available$4262
2023Not available$4465
2024Not available$4061
2025$77$4458
2026$75$4659

Irrigated cropland

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$1307
2020Not available$1334
2021Not available$1284
2022Not available$1556
2023Not available$14410
2024Not available$1315
2025$142$1594
2026$139$1525

Pasture

YearUSDA state meanCounty medianCounties
2019Not available$2261
2020Not available$2363
2021Not available$2263
2022Not available$2361
2023Not available$2362
2024Not available$2257
2025$25$2358
2026$27$2659

Highest and lowest reported means

County rankings by land type

Each list uses 2026 values for one land type only.

Sortable county table

2026 county cash rents

Change is shown only when the same land type has a valid value in the immediately prior year.

CountyNon-irrigated croplandYoY changeRate year
Limestone County$139/acre+9.4%2026
Lawrence County$113/acre+7.6%2026
Colbert County$105/acre+1.0%2026
Escambia County$101/acre-10.6%2026
Cherokee County$95/acre-1.6%2026
Baldwin County$90/acre-2.7%2026
Mobile County$84/acre—2026
Lauderdale County$79/acre+1.9%2026
Franklin County$73/acre+2.1%2026
Covington County$67/acre+9.9%2026
Monroe County$67/acre-1.5%2026
Morgan County$65/acre-15.0%2026
Calhoun County$65/acre-15.1%2026
Jackson County$62/acre+10.8%2026
Houston County$61/acre+8.0%2026
DeKalb County$60/acre+4.3%2026
Etowah County$60/acre+13.3%2026
Geneva County$60/acre-5.6%2026
Barbour County$59/acre+15.8%2026
Dale County$55/acre+11.2%2026
Talladega County$54/acre+17.6%2026
Hale County$53/acre+16.7%2026
Henry County$52/acre-1.0%2026
Autauga County$51/acre0.0%2026
Coffee County$50/acre+1.0%2026
Pickens County$50/acre—2026
Blount County$48/acre+2.1%2026
Cullman County$48/acre+33.8%2026
Fayette County$47/acre+12.1%2026
Tuscaloosa County$46/acre+4.5%2026
Elmore County$45/acre+4.7%2026
Lowndes County$42/acre+37.7%2026
Russell County$42/acre—2026
Shelby County$42/acre-1.2%2026
Macon County$41/acre—2026
Lamar County$41/acre0.0%2026
Marshall County$40/acre-20.0%2026
Pike County$40/acre-9.1%2026
Marengo County$40/acre+1.3%2026
Dallas County$37/acre+5.8%2026
St. Clair County$37/acre+49.0%2026
Lee County$35/acre+68.3%2026
Marion County$34/acre-8.1%2026
Wilcox County$34/acre+26.4%2026
Cleburne County$31/acre+5.2%2026
Crenshaw County$30/acre+15.4%2026
Montgomery County$30/acre-14.5%2026
Chambers County$28/acre+36.6%2026
Conecuh County$28/acre-14.1%2026
Winston County$27/acre+43.2%2026
Greene County$26/acre+30.0%2026
Randolph County$26/acre-8.9%2026
Chilton County$25/acre+8.9%2026
Bibb County$24/acre+4.3%2026
Walker County$24/acre+2.1%2026
Sumter County$20/acre-4.8%2026
Clay County$18/acre+33.3%2026
Clarke County$17/acre—2026
Choctaw County$15/acre-19.4%2026
Bullock County— (not reported)—2026
Madison County— (not reported)—2026
Washington County— (not reported)—2026

Source and method

How to read this report

USDA county cash rent is a mean for a named land-use category. It is not a low, median, and high distribution. The state cards above are labeled medians among reporting counties unless an official USDA statewide mean is explicitly available.

Rate year: 2026. USDA source release: Aug 21, 2026. Dataset refreshed: Oct 9, 2026.

Data editor: LandLeaseRates Data Team · Reviewed against active release bce02b07.

Read the full methodology
Narrative limitsFindings on this page are generated only from the active typed release; they do not infer causes or interpolate missing data.